Rice Sensory Bin

Good Afternoon! I’ve got a fun and easy sensory bin idea for you today. I did this a lot while I taught preschool and finally had the chance to do it with Noah!  He had a blast checking out the rice.

What you’ll need:
-Small/medium sized bin
-Uncooked rice
-Kitchen utensils (measuring cups, spins, whisks, etc)

All you need to do is simply put the rice and utensils in the bin and let your little one explore! 

image

image

image

image

image

image

Noah tried a little bit of the rice but spit it back out. I wouldn’t recommend they eat it but if they try a few it will be okay.

image

image

image

I told Noah to smile and this is the face I got!

image

image

image

The rice will get on the floor and stick to diapers! But it’s so much fun!

To take this sensory bin one step further you can dye the rice different colors! All you need to do is take one cup distilled white vinegar and one teaspoon of food coloring and mix it with the rice. It’s easiest if you put it in a gallon ziplock bag and mix all together. Then put the rice on a tray or on tin foil and let dry (about 24 hours). Make sure to mix the rice once in a while to make sure all sides of the rice dry.

*As a reminder never leave children alone with the rice.

I hope you have some may fun with your little one!!

Savanna

Leave a comment